Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Belligerence and Basketball

Wow what a Saturday of fun in Columbus. Who knew being dropped off at noon and then walking home to your friends house at 1:45 in the morning is a bad idea. Yes even at age 29 and closer to 30 I can still do that. We started off a great day with 6 PBR's of fun. By the way the greatest beer and everyone should drink it all the time. So we get there and you know when you start to drink you need food. Half off appetizers are great. We are at Average Joe's for a good 8.5 hours and there is about 15 of us at the bar. Everyone is drinking eating and spending money. Now during this time I feel that is is great time to call my grandmother. I am not really drunk right now just pretty happy. We are talking Kentucky and she totally gets me jacked for the game at 8:10. Also I have talked to my dad as well just about life and stuff. It is now game time and I am focused full beer and the Cats are on. Then an argument ensues with the owner I believe but it works out in our favor thankfully. Now obviously all of us are pretty toasty right now at 830 and then next think you know there is another rucus going on at our table this really big scary dude who would have murdered us. His fists of fire and toughness would have seriously hurt us. Seriously hurt us. I realize that our friend. No names said "hey douche". This ensued the riot. the big freaky dude is now in a corner and we decide to skip out of the bar b/c again the big dude and his big friends would hurt us. Plus I am now missing the UK game. GET ME TO THE BAR. So we get in the car and we cant find a girl that is with us. Great. Nor can I hear the game I made the driver put on so a little angry now. Finally we get to the next bar around 845 or 9ish. I get my seat and of course another beer and am in front of a big screen projection TV and I am not moving. I am dring and plan on getting drunk. UK is now dominating Wake Forest and I am stoked. So I call grandma again and she has her stat sheet and is so excited. I come back in and watch another game b/c they took the UK game off of TV and put a better game on. This ensues while I am talking with a couple buddies and my one friends girlfriend. We turn around and there is her boyfriend talking to his new girlfriend that is like 55 years old with a leather hat on and is taking shots with her. It is hysterical. Then comes the beat down of a lifetime. Our friend comes over and asks me to play pool with him b/c he wants to play. Now I have to say we are both pretty decent players. He breaks knocks one in and then misses. The other dude shoots and makes one in. Then its my turn. I have probably had about 15-20 beers and not much food but feeling good. I destroy this dude and his wife and make the rest of the solids and the 8 and we win. I put the stick down and got back to drinking. And watching basketball. Now at this point in the night the bar called the OC is getting ghetto but we decide to stick it out awhile longer. More drinks more drinks and more drinks. people doing shots and its getting out of control. then I get a hug from a friend of ours and I think whats going on. He is like I am leaving (again no names). You know who you are for leaving early. So I think its around 12 or 1230 thirty now. Time is not important. We decide to leave this bar because the rap music is going on and its time to get closer to home for the walk. Surprisingly I look next to me and the little fella is still out. You know who you are. Very surprised. We arrive at Gatsby's and its a pretty cool bar. More beers right away. Things are pretty hazy around this time. So we hit the patio b/c its packed and one girl is sleeping on her fiance's shoulder the whole night and people are eating. I am thinking we are not going to be here that long. WRONG. Beers are tasting good and the band is going great. So we go inside and it turns into dance party. A couple of the girls are dancing its great whatever. Lets keep it going. I have to use the restroom and when I am washing my hands I pulled the towel machine of the wall. I am sorry gatsbys. I put it back up but i guess it fell again. Then I get another tap on the shoulder and a hug and its the lady and her husband who I beat down in pool. So I try and tell them I am not that good and stuff but I know I am far superior than them. Leave them and go outside and its smoking central. Start dancing outside by myself becuase I am a moron. Go back in and he has gotten a table. SWEET. Sit down get up get beer. Crazy, dancing getting out of control. Jello Shot with friend. Ah hell. She is still sleeping on her fiance's shoulder such a trooper. More dancing more drinking. Ah crap I am freaking drunk. Sit outside smoke. realize its only two of us left. we are still drinking no more music just laughs and then a birthday girl walks by and we totally get birthday cake. Sweet. I am happy. time to walk home and we start and I realize I have to pee. Just did it right next to the tree. A cop drives by and nothing happens. We must be walking straight. We get back to my buddies and wake up his girlfriend and we apologize I have no clue what we talked about. I went to sleep with horrible gas and when I wake up at 815 in the morning it stinks so bad. I open the windows and turn on the fan and talk to friend and girlfriend. I realize to drive home at 9 in the morning. Make it to the last rest area and decide I dont have to go. 200 yards past it I am about to vomit again on 71. I pull over and take my sweatshirt off b/c I am sweaty. It passes but then I realize I have the beer shits. Its 95 the remaining way. Get home and its me vs the toilet. I win. I sleep eat wings drink beer and smoke cigs on Sunday. In regards to basketball on Saturday I dont remember much. Pretty much this article should have been named just Belligerence. Have a great day everyone.

Monday, March 22, 2010

First Four Days of the Tournament

HOLY COW!!!!!!! Is pretty much all I have to say about the first two rounds. I mean not just upsets galore but the games were amazing. The MSU vs Maryland game was freaking awesome. Maryland down a 14 and then MSU comes back and takes a lead to steal if from them. Absolutely great. The BYU vs Florida game has been the game of the tournament last Thursday afternoon it went into double OT. It was outrageous. That has been my favorite game of the tournament so far. Aside from all the UK destructions. There is nothing like sitting at a bar for 13.5 hours on a sunny saturday with friends and lots of booze. By the way I did not give Syracuse enough credit, man did they hammer Gonzaga. I thought the zags would give them a push in that game but they folded like an accordian and didnt compete. Matt Bouldin sucked and couldnt do anything. I really think that Cornell can give UK a run this week. But it will not be enough b/c UK is to talented and strong. Get that cinderella out of the dance. I feel horrible for MSU though even in that win they lost Kailin Lucas who is a freaking stud and that leaves the door wide open for UNI to take them out. My man crush on Evan Turner go even hotter with that near triple double on Sunday. Dude is just a man. But the bucks are going to need to get buford going because Dieble will cool off a little. I like them taking out Tennessee with relative ease. It will be close for a while then the wheels will fall off for the Vols. My updated thoughts on the final four is that I still have UK, Baylor and KSU but since Kansas is now done my hype in that bracket is rolling with the Bucks. Also I know everyone is talking about the shot that Ali hit but dude seriosly what flipping stones with 30 seconds left on the shot clock and its a feather through the hoop.
By the way why all the talk about expansion of the tournament. I was thinking about it and why would you try to break something that is concrete. We just had possibly one of the greatest 4 days in basketball. Nough said on that. Dont change it.
Enjoy the week everyone and the warm weather that is coming. The debouchery in Columbus will be the next blog. With sports involved. Drink Beer.

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

The Browns

I finally realized that I had to make my thoughts about their decisions to trade Brady and Kameron along with the signing of Jack Delhomme. My thoughts are that I wish we never had to trade them. That is 4 freaking 4 first round draft picks we traded. Braylon, Kellen, Brady and Kameron. That is unacceptable and you will never win if you always trade your number ones. That also reflects the type of upper management that we used to have in our front office. Seriously what freaking bums. I am really excited about having Tom and Mike in our front office. I think this is the start of our franchise and run to the playoffs. Who am I kidding lets just go for a 500 record. Braylon and Kellen were both cancers to the team and did nothing for us except creat trouble. Braylon did give us plenty of laughs with all his drops and balls to the facemask. Kellen was just a punk. He won less games in Tampa this year. I feel bad for Brady though not because he sucked here when he got his chance but that it took so long. It really ruined his mechanics. I hope he can revive his career someplace. I am a little skepticle on the Kamerion Wimbley trade though. I really think he got the hang of the game last year after a couple of subpar years. That is the one and only one I wish we would have not made. We will miss him. I like bringing in new qbs as well. I think Jake will bring a tough hardnosed attitude to the team and wont let any of the young recievers get out of hand. He will tell them where to be in their routes and if they arent there he wont throw them the ball. Also just like everyone has said is that Seneca is the perfect backup qb in the the NFL. He already knows Holmgrem system and wont need any babysitting. I think I am the only one but I am so stoked about getting Peyton Hillis. That dude is nasty and with the shfty and quick Jerome Harrison in the backfield they are going to make a nasty combo. Also dont forget about James Davis he is unproven but very talented. Congrats again to Josh Cribbs for his contract but he relents at all you bench his a**. Just so everyone knows Derek Anderson signed with the Cardinals and will be competing with Matt Leinhart as the starter. If he wins he gets to throw to Larry Fitzgerald and Steve Breaston and if that line can keep Kurt Warner up watch out NFC you are in trouble if DA is the qb there.

Last thing how stupid can you be. The Texas Rangers Coach busted for cocaine and the Rangers dont accept his resignation. Great example you are setting for children and the players on your team. Everyone have a great day and always enjoy beer. I DO.

Monday, March 15, 2010

NCAA TOURNAMENT

So after going through the brackets and analyzing them. There was only about 10-12 games that were easy to pick in the first round. Thats out of 32 stinking games. I cant believe that Kansas is the number 1 overall seed and got put in the toughest region. The two teams they have lost to this year are in the same region oklahoma state and Tennessee. Also they could face Ohio State or Georgetown or Maryland or Michigan State. What crap. Also Duke is in the easiest region and the only road block potentially could be a 2nd round matchup against Louisville. What I am worried about is Kentucky with a possible 2nd round matchup up against the previous #1 Texas. They may be an 8 seed but with a great player in Damien James and center in Dexter Pittman they are dangerous if they put it all together for 1 game. Syracuse's region is not that difficult but I have just never been a major supporter of that team. I can see them getting knocked out by Gonzaga in the 2nd round. Call me crazy but I think thats a very possible chance. In this tournament my team that no one knows much about and making a run is going to be UTEP. They have been on the outskirts of the top 25 all year but have a very good team with Derek Carracter and Randy Culepepper. Good inside out game. I think they are going to destroy Butler in the first round. Also Baylor I have been pimping them for the past 6 weeks.
TOP 4 DISSAPPOINTMENTS IN TOURNEY
1. Syracuse, Purdue, West Virginia, Vanderbilt but it was tough to put Purdue in here with the major injury to Robbie Hummel who is out for the year now.
TOP 4 SURPRISE TEAMS THAT WILL CATCH YOU OFF GUARD
1. Baylor, UTEP, Missouri, Siena
Good Luck to all of you and your brackets. PBR is my favorite beer.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

LIfe

So we all know how much I love sports and everyone that reads that will also say the same thing about themselves. Sometimes we need to take a step back and realize the signifcance of life and be appreciative of the people we have in it. I myself am guilty of not always calling people or sending an email just to say hello. Dont be scared to get in contact with that person you have lost touch with in the past just to say hello and see how they are doing. Most likely they are feeling the same way about you when they hear from you. Reach out to the people you love and respect and dont let the oppurtunity pass to reconnect with them. Sports and life interact in weird ways because all of you who know me know I love UK and UA but I would trade all that for one more day with the person who has shown me a way to live. I joined a fraternity in college and had Big Brother who passed this weekend and would take anything to have him back. He left a lasting impression on me because he always made me feel included in life at the fraternity and welcome with people who I may have not known as well as he. There was always a smile on his face whether it was a bad day or a good day and that how everyone should live there life. If you are reading this and we have not talked in awhile I love you and if I talk to you frequently and have not said it I love you as well. Be well everyone and in memory of my good friend I love you.

Friday, March 12, 2010

NCAA TOURNAMENT

So I watch a lot of basketball and listen to Jay Bilas pretty religiously because he knows basketball. But there is just one thing that is really frustrating me and its his attitude towards this years basketball teams. He constantly says how poor of a field this years tournament is going to be and that there are no dominant teams. Who wants a dominant team where you know that 63 teams dont have a chance at winning the tournament. This year I would say there are about 15-20 different teams that can make the final four. This is going to produce amazing drama in the tournament and will keep so many people enthralled by it. I just don't understand how he as a main anchor and proponent of college basketball can constantly degrade this year. How is that good for your sport. I am really surprised that ESPN has not told him to shut his trap. I digress on the bashing of Bilas but seriously I love Dick Vitale. That guy is amazing. He might not be the best play by play guy or color commentator but when he talks and gets going talking hoops he is so great. His passion bleeds through the TV and into your hearts as I listen to him. He is so passionate about college basketball and raising money to beat cancer. Just to keep everyone updated Syracuse has lost two in a row along with a major player in Onowaku (spelling). What I am hearing is he may miss out on the first two rounds of the tourney but he could be back for the sweet 16. The unique thing is that with the diversity in the field if they run into a tough 2nd round opponent they may not be around. If they do make it thats about 10-11 days of rest. In regards to the number 1 seeds if they are the Cuse, Kansas, Kentucky, and Duke. I would not put my money on Kentucky. They scare me with their freshman. Although they do have a super hot super fan in Ashley Judd. Love her. This is for my wife because she liked it so much. Have a great weekend and always have drink in your hand. Please follow if not.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Cleveland Cavaliers and Lebron

Now I have to admit I believe that we are in trouble if we do not resign Lebron. Life without Lebron will suck. We will be a 7 or 8 seed every year like the Bulls are currently. We will not be competing for championships we will be competing for the last seed in the playoffs. I believe the injuries that have recently occured to the Cavs are a good thing because nothing is long term besides the Shaq injury. As long as he is back by the time we face the Magic then we will be okay. Sitting LBJ the last couple of games and getting him about a week off was masterful by Mike Brown. Its going to get him his legs back and also heal the slight ankle injury. Also I feel Mo Williams injury was good timing b/c he got to rest his legs but also gave some playing time to other guys and got them experience. Once they get Z back they are back to the same team and then Shaq will be back around playoff time and they are going to be the front runners for the championship. My thought on the Boston Celtics is they are old and just frankly not that good. Rajon Rando is the best player on that team. KG is hurt and not the same along with Ray Allen it seems has lost that sweet stroke of his. Paul Pierce is hurt as well. They dont scare me at all. If Oneil is back and can match up with Dwight Howard than I think the Cavs can win that series in six. Then it would be the Lakers and that would be fun.
In regards to LBJ leaving I dont see any reason why he would even consider that. Why would he even consider going to NY they are a terrible organization along with they suck. He can not build his brand name any larger by going to NY. I feel if he went there and turned them into a winner he would be vilified by a lot of other fans and he would probably be disliked by many fans outside of Cleveland. People are sick of the city of NY and everything they get. That city sucks and I HATE everything about them. Sorry I apologize for that. Cleveland is a top notch organization and is committed to winning and trying for a championship. That is what is the most important thing to him. Gotta go have a great day and here comes the NCAA tournament.

Monday, March 8, 2010

Big Bens Big Problem

What a complete moron. I do not understand how he could put himself in that same situation after what happened last offseason. What a complete tool. Sexual Assualt after being accused of rape. I know zero of the details but it seems like the validity of the rape case may have just been crystalized. I absolutely dispise Pukesburgh but it will be interesting to see what Roger Godell does in this situation. Even if he is innocent. I dont feel you can just give him a slap on the wrist and let him go. I am feeling a 4 game suspension for Big Ben and his big mistake all without pay. You know it wont happen though because he is one of the poster boys of the league. I believe I have a solution for the NFL problems. Whenever you suspend a player he does not get the week off he should have to go play for the Oakland Raiders for no pay along with feed Al Davis and look him in the face. YUK!!!!!!!!!!
Now onto Basketball. The best tournament has already started and its early this year. There are so many teams trying to play their way into the NCAA's. Illinois, Memphis, San Diego State, Old Dominion, Georgia Tech and St. Mary's just to name a few. For all the basketball honks out there is Championship week where teams can win there way into the tournament by winning their prospective league tournament. The best thing about this is that when a school rises from a mid major and beats a team that may already be in the big tourney it takes away bubble teams oppurtunities. Tonight is a huge one of those types of games. Its St. Mary's against Gonzaga. If St. Marys wins they are in which would take away a bubble oppurtunity for another school since the Zags are already in the Big Dance. Plus this is a big time rivalry game. Its on at 930 EST. This also gives you the chance to watch smaller schools and you can pick your cinderella for the dance. Mine is Murray State. I watched that whole Ohio Valley Conference tournament and they are stinking good. Plus they have won 30 games this year already albeit against lesser competition. To me that doesnt make a difference they dont feel they can lose. The teams I dispise in the tournament and would stay away from are West Virginia, Villanova, BYU, Purdue (robbie hummel injury), Vanderbilt, Temple and Pitt. There are a few more that I think will get high seeds and wont go anywhere in The Dance. For now thats it and remember Pittsburgh sucks and so do Big Bens chicks.......... involuntarily.

Sunday, March 7, 2010

NFL Free Agency

This is a very exciting time for NFL teams and cities. Number 1 you get the bad teams that can add pieces and possibly become better also the playoff teams that were only a player or two away from winning it all. So far we are a few dayd into free agency and I think there have been three major winners. Surprisingly Detroit, Chicago and Baltimore. Detroit signed Kyle Vanden Bosch, defense, and Nate Burelson a wide reciever. Vanden Bosch is a great leader and defensive machine. And I believe what they were thinking is they are going to be getting Endamakhu Suh or Gerald McCoy to go opposite of Kyle. As for Chicago they recieved the jewel of free ageny in Julius Peppers. He should be able to offer him pressure on the qb and great athleticism. That should be able to take some of the other pressure of the rest of the defense. Now they also need to go find a wide reciever for Jay Cutler to throw the ball too. By the way my thought on Jay Cutler is that he is not a winner. He did nothing in Denver and was horrible last year in Chi-town. He is a cocky individual with a bad temper. Not leadership qualities. Now onto Baltimore. They now have big time reciever after getting Anquan Bolden from Arizona. That guy is nails. He is a top 10 wide reciever in the league. He is tough as a bull out there and he will fit right on into their culture. I am expecting 85 catches and 1300 yards and 15 TD's from him this year. As I say their culture they have signed another murderer, Dante Stallworth. Bolden just better watch out that he doesnt jump on his back cleat his foot. AKA Braylon and him.
Now onto the Cleveland Browns. Congratulations on resigning Josh Cribbs. Its about time Cleveland brings someone back that gives him a raise for what he has done for this team and city. Now after getting that raise he had better not lose his competitiveness. He was certainly rewarded for his productiveness. He identifies with this city and is just like us in area. Work hard and generally keep our mouths shut. HE gets into zero trouble and does amazing community service for the area. I am a major Scott Fujita fan and think he can bring leadership to a defense that is lacking that. Plus he brings intensity and energy.
Yes in regards to the Akron vs Kent game I am still in mourning about this and the destruction that the Zips took at home on national television. By the way tried the Bud Light Golden Wheat last night and its tasty also made my own beer called Cowboy. Should be done in a month. Thank you for reading.

Friday, March 5, 2010

Akron vs Kent State

Tonight at the JAR in Akron its going to be a clash of the titans of the MAC. Tonights game is for the MAC Championship as well as for the #1 is in the MAC tournament. Its on ESPN2 with a whiteout for fans. So if you are going to the game make sure to where white. There is so much hatred in this game between the two teams with only 13 miles seperating the two. Kent won the earlier meeting this year at their house. It was a very even game that was won on runs. The issue was akron went on 7-0 runs and kent would respond with the same. Then Kent went on a 20-0 run and that was the ballgame. With about 4 minutes to go in that first half it was tied and from that point on till 11 minutes to go in the 2nd half Kent outscored the Zips 40-13. That will not happen tonight with the game being in Akron. Steve McNees is back to hitting his outside shots and when he is on the Zips don't lose. Also Nick Cventenovich and Zeke Marshall can not get into foul trouble. If that happens like it did last weekend at BG they will get smashed. Especially with Justin Green playing for KSU. Chris Singletary for Kent also is explosive but I feel we can shut him down with a combo of Anthony "humpty" Hitchens, and Darryl Roberts. Its a sellout crowd tonight and that is going to be a major factor. The JAR will be a sweatbox with about 5500 people crammed in there. People yelling at each other, fingers flying its pure hatred. If you want great drama in a game tune into the game tonight. Have a great day everyone and Kent State Sucks GO ZIPS!!!!!!!

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Tonights Basketball games

I have to vent very quickly and its in regards to ESPN not putting the Kansas vs Kansas State game on TV. Instead its on ESPN360. Are you freaking kidding me. The first game in Manhattan KS was one of the best of the year. This one could determine a #1 seed in the tournament. This infuriates me. I understand that Maryland and Duke are on for the ACC title but on ESPN2 is OK State vs Texas A&M. Are you kidding. Good game but not the one that should be on TV. Also in case you missed it OSU had another win last night against Illinois and man are they playing good at the right time. I retract on them getting a 1 seed. Joe Lunardi a Bball guy that talks about seeding he has New Mexico at a #2 seed. I cant say I have watched them play but this might be the year a team like that makes a run. Or not. Dude its New Mexico. Also there is a do or die game in the Big East going right now as I resume this post between Notre Dame and Uconn. Loser has no shot at the Tourney without winning their conference tournament. Good night all. Comment, pass the blog to your friends but always have a drink in your hand.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Blog for Mike Rowe

So my friend Mike Rowe gave me a few topics on which he wanted me to blog about. I have a feeling he lied about reading this. One was the NFL combine, Hotties in Curling and my thoughts on what I want the Browns to do in the draft. So based on his wants I have to include this link of curling hotties http://bleacherreport.com/articles/349951-rock-the-house-the-hotties-of-olympic-curling#page/12. HOLY FLIPPING COW I should have watched curling. My favorite is Cheryl Bernard.
Now Mike if you read yesterdays blog you would have noticed the dumbest thing on TV is the NFL combine. Boring, useless and a waste of my eyes valuable time. Football players showing there skills without pads on. Plus interviews where the athletes have been coached and know whats coming.
The Browns and what I think they should do is definitly not draft a qb. Possibly even try and get Kevin Kobb from Philly. But if have to get rid of your 1st round entirely dont do that. If they can trade their 7th pick and 3rd rounder for Kobb and Phillys 24th pick I would like that. But do not get out of the 1st round. I am praying that Eric Berry is available or a Joe Haden they are both cornerbacks. I would certainly make a trade like Sean Rogers for Kevin Kobb. He is the only QB I would want that is out there on the market. Unless Philly decides to keep him and let McNabb go I would say go get him at all costs.

Also definitly check out the Curling hotties. Holy Cow they are SMOKING. Here is the site again.
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/349951-rock-the-house-the-hotties-of-olympic-curling#page/12

Monday, March 1, 2010

Great Sports Weekend

Congratulations to the USA Hockey team. They battled back from the 2 goal deficit and sent it to overtime. That game was amazing. I am not a major hockey fan but I was on the edge of my seat wanting the USA to do Canada so bad. My favorite was at the end of the second period when the American put Syd Crosby on his backside along with I think it was the first period when we jacked a dude into our own bench. Also the best athletes are the cross country skiers. They did 50 freaking kilometers are you crazy. Thats more than 30 miles of skiing. INSANITY.

The next thing that is bothering me is these coaches that are wanting more teams into the NCAA Tournament. The next 24 don't even have a shot at getting anywhere in the tournament. My opinion is that the playin games should be for the 8-9 seeds in the tournament. It would be awesome. Having those teams that are on the bubble have to play their way into the tournament. It would be the best. By the way I am still majorly getting on the OSU bandwagon. I think they will get a #2 seed and get a great look at a final four. Also still loving Baylor, they are so athletic and fast. I don't like to say I told ya so but did you see The Cuse romp on Nova. I predicted 15 point win and they win by 18. Kentucky is my favorite team and they went down but thats not a surprise to me. I do not see them making it out of the sweet 16 right now (forgive me grandma). I think the final four is going to be Kansas, Duke, Syracuse and a surprise seeded team like a Baylor or a 6 or 7 seed that gets hot.

I have to hit on the NFL Combine. The worst day ever for sports. This is the stupidest things I have ever seen in my life. I turned it on for about 3 minutes and cannot believe people actually watch it. I can't believe the quarterbacks dont have to throw a football while they are there. The only way that shouldn't throw is if they are hurt. Also watching guys run the 40 with no pads on is crazy. The only type of game where that would come in handy is if this was the flag football combine. They should be running jumping and doing all that stuff with their helmets and pads.

Till tomorrow enjoy your life.